Top 10 Reasons Why Percy Jackson is Better than Harry Potter

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hello, and welcome to another week of top 10 in fandom. I hoped that you enjoyed the last list, because there are some people in this world who are a lot scarier that Lord Voldemort.

Anyway, this week’s topic is the top 10 reasons why Percy Jackson is better than Harry Potter. As we all know, Harry Potter is a wizard and Percy Jackson is a demigod. Now pit these two against each other and we’re talking a fantasy showdown that won’t soon be forgotten.

Anyway, the top 10 reasons why Percy Jackson is better than Harry Potter are as follows:

10. Percy has a pen that becomes a sword (and he never loses it), but all Harry has is a wooden wand.

9. While Hogwarts may be great, who wouldn’t want to go to Camp Half-Blood?

8. Voldemort is just a messed-up wizard, but Kronos is a huge threat to the entire world.

7. Percy Jackson & the Olympians was hugely inspired by Greek mythology. Not so much with Harry Potter.

6. If there was an underwater fight, Percy would win for sure.

5. In fact, Percy can pretty much hold his own during a fight. I mean, he’s beaten Medusa, a Hydra, and he even squeezed past Luke and retrieved the lightning bolt. What did Harry do, besides maybe yelling “Expeliarmus” a whole bunch of times?

4. You seriously thought that Percy Jackson ripped off Harry Potter?

3. Grover and Annabeth are more loyal to Percy than Ron and Hermione are to Harry.

2. Percy’s story is a bit more exciting than Harry’s boring story.

1. At the end of the day, demigods rule and wizards drool.

Well, that’s all for this list, so I suggest that you set aside Harry Potter and start reading Percy Jackson. If you find yourself disagreeing with any of the above items for any reason, then let me know in the comments. See you next week for more Top 10 in Fandom!

Fan Fiction Fridays: How Much is Too Much?

In this week’s edition of FanFiction Fridays, I’m going to be talking about how much exposure to fan fiction that should be allowed.

When I was just starting out writing fan fiction, I realized that I had written less and read so much fan fiction that I was starting to get tired of it. I mean, it was like I kept reading the same story over and over without end.

That’s when I realized that I was suffering from too much fan fiction, or as I’d like to call it, fan fiction overload.

That’s right, everyone. It is possible to overload on fan fiction.

In fact, I have more stories in my fan fiction library than I ever cared to read, with most of them being…you guessed it…Harry Potter fanfiction.

Well, ignoring that last remark, how should you deal with fanfiction overload? I have some of the following suggestions that I have tried and you should too:

  1. Don’t go on any fanfiction websites for at least a week.
  2. Reassess your favorite fanfiction stories. If you really didn’t like the story, don’t read it anymore. In fact, delete it from your faves.
  3. If there’s a story that you’re reading and it hasn’t been updated for at least six months, delete it from your faves. The author of the story obviously gave up on it, so don’t wait around for something that might not ever come.
  4. If a story contains original characters and plotlines that aren’t a part of the story’s canon, delete the link. (I’ll cover the pull-to-publish controversy next week)
  5. If a story causes you to question your morals, or it goes against your beliefs (such as homosexuality), then delete the link to that story. Don’t compromise what your parents taught you in the name of fanfiction.
  6. Now, find the rest of the fanfiction that you’ve stopped reading six months ago and delete them from your faves. By then, you should have deleted most of the stories that are in your faves, leaving only the good fics.
  7. (And this is very important) rediscover your life BEFORE fanfiction came into your life. Did you like sports? Books? TV shows? Go back to those things. (But I would advise you to be wary of reading books or watching TV, as these two things could get you sucked back into reading and writing fanfiction)
  8. Find something new to do with your time. Read books from your local library. Clean your room. Take up a new hobby. Whatever you do, keep doing it and you’ll forget about fanfiction.
  9. In fact, write your own book.

Now you know.

in the coming weeks, I’ll be doing previews of my new NaNoWriMo novel and with it, some more posts about fan fiction.

My books Harry Moffer & the Dumbest Story Ever and The Summer of Our Discontent are available for purchase on Smashwords.com.