StoryADay 2017 (Part 1)

Once again, I’m getting ready to start this crazy little project called StoryADay 2017. The object of this project is to write a short story everyday in the month of May. You might think that someone like me, who wirties everyday for a living would be able to handle a bit of writing.

Guess again.

Sometimes I come down with writer’s block and I can’t seem to move forward. But luckily for me, StoryADay gives you a prompt and you have to create a short story using that prompt.

So far, I have written for StoryADay for the years 2013-2016. This year will be no exception, as I’m going to write some intense short stories that will hit you where it hurts the most.

So what are some of my favorite short stories from StoryADay?

Well, I have a few short stories listed, and they are as follows:

  1. The Necessary Reboot (which describes a TV show like My Little Pony)
  2. Catching a Criminal (and its prequel “The Case of the Perplexing Story“)
  3. We Worship Hobbits (a tribute to the Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien)
  4. The disappearance of a non-existent boy (genderflipped version of a previous story)
  5. Whatever Happened to Anastasia Elan and Treasure Dara? (a fake magazine article on two famous girls)
  6. “Promise Me” (a historical fiction version of the famous scene in “Game of Thrones”)
  7. Love is Sweet, My Friend, But It Cannot Change This Story (and its prequel, “The Runaway“)
  8. In 30 Minutes, Three Cousins Get a Reality Check (in which the “9/11 Averted” story is flipped on its head)
  9. There’s a Woman in the Men’s Bathroom (my response to the transgender bathroom controversy)
  10. In the end is the beginning (how one of my stories is going to end)

OK, I’m going to stop right there, but the stories I have listed are available for reading on the blog Stories in 5 Minutes. Thank you for reading this blog post and I’ll see you on Wednesday.

Essay: Harry Moffer (Almost) Gets Cancelled

Last month, I spent a total of TWO weeks writing the story “Harry Moffer Really Needs to Give Up and Go Home”. In that story, Harry continues to be overshadowed by various events taking over the school. Plus, he gets a part in the school play (more on that in another blog post) and finds out that not only did he have to deal with his secret past coming out, but he has to deal with the possibility of having to leave Wyvernwing and returning to Branford (which he hasn’t been to since the first book).

That, and his siblings Henry and Hattie are also doing their own thing. But that’s a given.

While Harry struggles to come to terms with Snibblepore’s betrayal, the other students form social justice groups and fight each other instead of tackling problems in the school. Plus, issues such as racial diversity, LGBT rights, and the debate about school are addressed, but the results of those debates are not satisfactory.

And I’m not even going to mention the part where Harry is kidnapped by an insane former classmate who sent him three threatening letters and another former classmate is angry with him for leaving Branford without telling anyone.

That, and an animal known as Barney the Cancellation Bear finds Harry and forces him to return to Branford, effectively cancelling the Harry Moffer Parody Project.

And let’s talk about the cancellation, because I had said that the project was eight books long (the seventh book was split into two parts and will address the Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows movie split), plus the much-hated epilogue that will inevitably take place after the Project is over.

So there you have it. Now if you would excuse me, I have another project to work on.

Fantopedia Update: Where’s the Magazine???

OK, so I know that you’re all asking me for the Fantopedia Magazine…hey, wait! Nobody knows about Fantopedia? Wow, what a shame. Really.

Anyway, someone asked me if I was still doing the Fantopedia Magazine, and the answer is, I’m going to start the magazine in the fall of this year. But details of the magazine will be on the Young Adult at Heart blog, as that’s mainly for my pop culture stuff.

So, what’s in the magazine?

Well, here’s a short list of what’s in the magazine:

Front Matter
– movie reviews (in which I write a short review of the movies that are currently in theaters)
– fantasy news (anything relating to fantasy and some science fiction)

Table of Contents
· short stories (just what the title implies. ranges from microfiction to 1,000 word stories)
· novel excerpts (1,000 words from a novel that I’m currently writing)
· featured articles (includes character interviews, world descriptions, author interviews
· book reviews (in which I review a fantasy/science fiction book I’ve read)
· encyclopedia (in which I write an article describing a part of my fictional world)
· essay (optional, but I do have a reason why I write something the way I write.)

Back Matter
– next issue (well, a sneak peek of what’s coming next month)

OK, you say, but how did you even think up the magazine?
I say, I first thought of making a literary magazine back in 2015, when the writing site Movellas featured a magazine writing contest.

And what was the subject of your magazine?
Naturally, I decided to write about the 9/11 series that I’m still working on.

And how were you able to accomplish this?
Well, I had to spend hours doing research on the years 2001 and 2002, as well as filling in the blanks because the 9/11 attacks never happened. But some things DID happen in 2002, so I can’t really ignore those events, or can I?

OK, when are you finishing the story?
At this point, I’m not sure, seeing as I’ve got a multitude of writing projects and some blogs to update. But the story will be finished nonetheless.

Speaking of which, how far are you along in the Life after 9/11 story?
Well, I’m currently at chapter 16, and I intended to stop the story at 20 chapters. I hope to finish the story by the end of this year.

So, what day do you plan to unleash the magazine?
I haven’t decided yet, but when I get closer to September, I’ll reveal the due date.

Anyway, that’s the state of the magazine. I haven’t abandoned the project, but I haven’t gotten around to set it up. If you want to subscribe, please let me know, as I’m going to be selling the issues on Smashwords.

Thank you for reading this blog post; I’ll be back with another post soon.

Jon Snow Day blog post

Now here’s something that will get your attention:

Last year, on “Game of Thrones”, Jon Snow came back from the dead. But the significance of the day isn’t lost on us, but let’s take a look at what led to that point in time:

At the beginning of “Game of Thrones”, Jon Snow is introduced to the world as the bastard son of Ned Stark (even though we all know that’s not true!), and his life, while better than most bastards living in Westeros, isn’t exactly pleasant. Ned never seems to spend time with him, his siblings can only tolerate him, and Catelyn looks at him with almost downright hatred. (Shame she died not knowing that Ned was hiding a terrible secret from the world.)

Then Jon (looking for a chance to make his way in the world, signs up at the Night’s Watch, only to learn that it’s little more than a penal colony for thieves and other unsavory characters. Despite that, he bonds wiht some of his fellow watchmen and gains resepct for himself. (Well, he did stay amoing the wildlings for a while and gains some respect from them as well.)

After the lord commander is killed while on a scouting mission, Jon is elected 998th Lord Commander of the Night’s Watch. At the same time, Stannis Baratheon (who believes himself as the rightful king of Westeros) tries to sway Jon to his side by promising him to be the Lord of Winterfell, but he refuses. (Plus, a trip to Hardhome on the TV show all but exposes who he truly is to the Night’s King.)

But the hardest part of the story is when Jon is stabbed to death (just like Julius Caesar) and is left to die. Only a handful of watchmen (and Ser Davos Seaworth) are loyal to him and a large group of angry wildlings attack the Wall and take over. (That could happen differently in the books, however.) Plus, Melisandre uses her magic to bring Jon back, but he’s by himself when he makes his inevitable return.

And what date was that? May 1, 2016.

(Finally, you say. Something good finally happens in 2016!)

With that, you realize that since Jon was declared legally dead, he can’t be on the Wall anymore. Yet he joins forces with Sansa and helps to take back Winterfell from the evil Ramsay Bolton. (And he personally gives Ramsay the epic smackdown of 2016 until Sansa stops him.)

All right, I’m getting a little too far ahead, so I will cut this thing short. But a few weeks from now, I’ll be talking about R+L=J and what this means for the show. I’ll be back in about 20 minutes.

May Day

Hello, and welcome to the month of May, where the weather gets hotter and I get more miserable. But that’s not important.

The important thing is that this month is known as “StoryADay” month, where you spend a day in May writing a short story on a particular subject. I’m going to take that challenge, even if you think I’m crazy for doing this challenge right after doing BOTH Camp NaNoWriMo and NaPoWriMo. With that, I’ll tell you about how it’s going as often as I can.

Also, I have some more YouTube videos to post on here, so if you subscribe to my channel, I’ll do a shout-out video to you. And all my videos are available for viewing.

So, what’s this you say? I have a few more words left? Here’s the lyrics to the song I featured in the story “Harry Moffer & the Unhappy Fandom” called “Take That, Cancellation Bear”:

Well, I’ve been in to a school where they worshipped a fictional wizard, where they had an unauthorized high school musical, and student-led rebellions. I’ve fought against unfair rules and unnecessary expectations, and I’ve stood up to those who wanted to control my life. I have my brother and sister with me and all my friends surround me, with their help, I know I’m going to make it in this world one day…

And yet when I heard that they wanted to pull the plug on this story, I knew the time for action had come. Now it’s time for me to become the hero that I was born to be…

So, take that, cancellation bear! You say you don’t like us, but we don’t care! Take that, cancellation bear, because we’re not going anywhere! We’re going to be here for a very long time, so you might as well get used to seeing us! Take that, cancellation bear, because you’re not about to take our show!!

Well, I don’t know what will happen next, but all I know is this: I’m not sorry for refusing to be the man that you want me to be. And the rest of the world needs to know that they were wrong, so we must teach them to sing a brand-new song

Now someone out there wants to shut me down, but they don’t know who I really am. They’ve messed with the wrong person, and now I’m going to take them down…

Take that, cancellation bear! You say you don’t like us, but we don’t care! Take that, cancellation bear, because we’re not going anywhere! We’re going to be here for a very long time, so you might as well get used to seeing us! Take that, cancellation bear, because you’re not about to take our show!!

You’ve been taking away things we like in the name of decency, but you can’t force the world to be child-friendly. All children must grow up, they have to learn that world is not a friendly place. But there you have it, I’m back in the game, and I’m better than ever…and this time, I’m here for good!

Take that, cancellation bear! You say you don’t like us, but we don’t care! Take that, cancellation bear, because we’re not going anywhere! We’re going to be here for a very long time, so you might as well get used to seeing us! Take that, cancellation bear, because you’re not about to take our show!!

Take that, cancellation bear! You say you don’t like us, but we don’t care! Take that, cancellation bear, because we’re not going anywhere! We’re going to be here for a very long time, so you might as well get used to seeing us! Take that, cancellation bear, because you’re not about to take our show!!

Thanks for reading this blog post; I’ll get back to you soon!

