Rejection Letter for “And You Thought Your Family Was Weird”

And now for the final rejection letter:

From the office of Primebooks, Inc.
Kelleyville, California

October 27, 2016

To Ms. May,

I regret to inform you that the manuscript for “And You Thought Your Family Was Weird” is unsuitable for publication. It’s not that I don’t like the story, I just hate the main protagonist. To me, she comes off as one of those silly girls who live social media to the point of her shutting out her family. I hate those types of girls.

But I know this story can be saved, and I would suggest that you rewrite the story from the viewpoint of another character. That character must persuade the girl to put away her cell phone for good and learn to be a normal teenager. I suggest you take this advice and start now.

Sincerely yours,

Timothy Chaney

I don’t know what to say. This company has rejected me so many times that it’s time for me to take my business elsewhere. I’m not just going to sit around and be told I can’t write what I want to write. To squash someone’s writing because you yourself can’t write is a form of bullying, and I don’t do bullies.

Anyway, it’s time for me to close this part of the blog and move on to the next subject. I’ll see you all tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

