Rejection Letter for “Confessions of a Fanfiction Writer”

Get ready to be rejected; but nobody likes rejection.

From the office of Primebooks, Inc.
Kelleyville, California

July 23, 2016

To Ms. May,

I regret to inform you that the manuscript for “Confessions of a Fanfiction Writer” is unsuitable for publication. I know you’ve grown tired of having to hear those words, but I don’t think fan fiction is a good subject to write about. Plus, your protagonist sounds like one of those silly fangirls who spends all their time writing fan fiction while they could be dating or hanging out with friends..

Plus, fan fiction is for children.

Please throw away this story and start over.

Sincerely yours,

Timothy Chaney

Well, well, I see someone’s creative ideas were squashed while they were in high school, or else they wouldn’t say those kinds of things. It’s so sad that I have to put up with those annoying attacks on my intelligence instead of being told why my story was being rejected.

But I know I’ll do better next week.

With that being said, I’ll be back with another rejection letter.

4 thoughts on “Rejection Letter for “Confessions of a Fanfiction Writer”

Leave a Reply

