Rejection Letter for “Cosplay! The Novel”

And now for the second rejection letter for my second NaNoWriMo novel:

From the office of Primebooks, Inc.
Kelleyville, California

May 3, 2016

To Ms. May,

I regret to inform you that this manuscript you have sent to me is unsuitable for publication. I have read the manuscript in question, and while I believe this is a good story, I nonetheless don’t like it. A white boy who rejects his own heritage in favor of a heritage he was not born into is cultural appropriation, and that kind of thing is unacceptable and offensive towards the Japanese people.

If you want me to reconsider this manuscript for publication, I would suggest that you scrap the story and start over. The main protagonist should respect the Japanese culture, not try to be a part of it. I hope you understand.

Sincerely yours,
Timothy Chaney

While the concept behind “Cosplay! The Novel” is about a boy who embraces another culture, I’m sure someone who reads this story will complain about cultural appropriation as well as rejecting the culture you were born into.  I’ll discuss that in another post.

Leave a Reply

