Rejection Letter for “Notorious: The Ballad of Candy Cane Brenner”

As promised, I have the first rejection letter for my first NaNoWriMo novel:

From the office of Primebooks, Inc.
Kelleyville, California

February 26, 2016

To Ms. May,

I regret to inform you that this manuscript you have sent to me is unsuitable for publication. I have read the manuscript in question, and I am offended with its contents. The story about a young woman who becomes a celebrity and is preferred over a missing child makes me angry, and I am not easily angered over a book.

Also, the fact that you have portrayed several beloved celebrities as caricatures and criticized people seeking fame as “stupid, thoughtless losers who need to get a real job” is extremely offensive towards those who want to be famous.

Plus, running away from home and becoming a pop star is not the answer to bullying. Getting an adult to help you confront the bully is the right answer.

If you want me to reconsider this manuscript for publication, I would suggest that you scrap the plot altogether and yet expand upon the story about Candy Cane, as she is more interesting than the character Mimi Johnson.

Sincerely yours,
Timothy Chaney

Well, I have the details on why “Notorious: The Ballad of Candy Cane Brenner” failed on the blog NaNoWriMo Nightmare. I will be back with another rejection letter for another book.

Leave a Reply

