NaNoWriMo 2008: NOTORIOUS: The Ballad of Candy Cane Brenner

Here’s the first story I wrote for NaNoWriMo:

In 2005, famous pop singer/actress Candy Cane Brenner attends a charity concert in Bolindale, New Mexico. While there, she finds herself involved in a decade-old murder mystery of a little girl named Mimi Johnson.

This was my first story for NaNoWriMo, and it was pathetic. I first created the idea in 2004, when I was at the height of my idea-creating kick. But when it came time for me to write the story, I couldn’t get a single idea out without failing. The main character wasn’t Candy Cane Brenner, but a girl named Mimi Johnson, whose short life and tragic death put a huge damper on the story.

Then in 2009, I had to abandon the story.

I then tried writing the story as a TV documentary, but that didn’t work. I’m still at the starting line with this story, and I must do something drastic to get it off the ground. I mean, sure the murder mystery can stay, but this story is about Candy Cane, not Mimi. (I’m not sure where I came up with the idea of Mimi Johnson in the first place.)

Also, I’ve decided to compose the lyrics to the songs that Candy performs, including her #1 hit song, “Notorious”. That song was at the height of her music career, along with the theme of this story. People everywhere wanted to know who she was, yet they didn’t know the real Candy Cane Brenner whatsoever. (Her singing and acting career eventually tanked after the scandal.)

So, I’m going to give this story one more chance before I destroy it for good. (I hate throwing away stories, especially if they had the potential to become something great. Also, aren’t you tired of the typical teen stories about high school and trying to fit in? Just a thought.)

I’ll return tomorrow with another story.

Leave a Reply

