My Old NaNoWriMo Advice and Why it’s Full of B.S.

Looking back over all my old blog posts regarding NaNoWriMo, I’ve come to the conclusion that most of what I wrote on that subject is crap. The reason is that I kept trying to limit myself to a set number of words to write even though I should be more flexible with my word count.

But that’s not all it is. In fact, here’s what I’ve written in years past that have gotten me to where I am right now:

  • I want to actually write the book AND finish it on time. that means no chapters left unfinished, nor will there be another story left undone.
  • If a story has been abandoned, I must start writing the story all over again. NO exceptions will be made.
  • I will do everything to make sure that the story is completed.
  • I will not start any other projects until NaNoWriMo is over.

As you can see, all of this is complete and total crap. There’s no way I can write 2,000 words in 30 days. If I did, I’d have written 60,000 words before I crashed and burned. That’s not how it’s done.

What should I do? Who knows.

I’ll be back tomorrow with another blog post.

Leave a Reply

