Fanfiction: Is It Really Possible to Make Money from It?

Several years ago, I wrote a blog post about Kindle Worlds, in which Amazon wants to pay you to write fanfiction.

Or better yet, let me show you what I have to say about that:

Friday, May 24, 2013

Well, believe it or not…

…Amazon wants you to publish your fan fiction and get paid for it.

Well, I don’t know what to make of this, but knowing that I’m trying to go from fan fiction to original fiction, I’m not sure if this is a good idea.

Sure, I’ve read and written tons of fan fiction over the years, but am I willing to stick it out and actually publish my fan fiction? I will allow people to write fan fiction based on my own stories, but will I publish fan fiction on Amazon?

I’ll let you all know when I make a decision.

And my other reaction here:

May 25, 2013

Yesterday, on my FanFiction Fridays blog, I wrote a blog post on the news that Amazon wants to publish your fanfiction for you. I’m not saying that it’s a bad idea, but it is still fan fiction, since you’re writing a fictional story based on someone else’s works.

While there are some people who are applauding this decision and other people who oppose it, I am beginning to wonder what is going to happen to fanfiction sites like fanfiction.net if this was to happen. I also don’t mind if people write stories based on my writings, but don’t sell them. I have to make a living, too.

I’ll tell you if anything else happens.

In those two responses, I wasn’t too impressed with this idea. Yes, I like fanfiction, but do I really want to make money off of it? Plus, with the restrictions that Amazon has placed on the stories for Kindle Worlds, I’m not sure if I should take that risk.

Or maybe I could. After all, it is possible to make money from your stories, but should you?

I’ll get back to you on the Kindle Worlds debate.

Leave a Reply

