What You Ought to Know About Fanfiction

What is fan fiction, you ask? Well, I’m glad you asked, because we’re going to talk about the things you should know about fan fiction, OK?

The definition of fan fiction is (according to the Merriam Webster dictionary) a story involving popular fictional characters (from either a TV show, book, or movie) that is written by fans and often posted on the Internet. So there you have it.

But not so fast, seeing as fan fiction has been around for a long while. It was once relegated to a dark corner of the literary world, not to be noticed by anyone except for a small community of fans. Nowadays, it’s everywhere, and not all fan fiction is good.

A few years ago, I published a segment on this blog called “How to Revolutionize Your Fan Fiction,” in which I (as a fictional blogger) give out the rules for fan fiction, rules that often get broken. (I have broken those rules on a number of occasions, so I kind of know what I’m talking about.)

Since then, I’ve yet to write a fan fiction that follows those rules. Maybe I’ll try to do that this year…if I can.

Leave a Reply

