Strong Female Characters?

I don’t know if you know this, but history seems to have a problem with women who behave. You know what they say, “Well-behaved women seldom make history“.

Well, I’m here to tell you that that line is hardly the truth.

In fact, those who behave have more than enough sense to know what they can and can’t do, and what they should do and what they shouldn’t do. Those women know their place, and instead of complaining about it, they try to work with it to the best of their abilities.

But what of those so-called “strongfemale characters who are lurking around in today’s stories? What do they have to offer?

What troubles me is that today’s society seems to admire women who try to pretend to be like the men and shun women who would rather stick to their “traditional” roles in society. I mean, those who are deemed “strong” despise being a “girl” because they don’t like the limitations that society has put on girls. They seem to think that being more of a “man” will garner them the respect that they deserve.

Not so with me.

In fact, I have created the princess who dislikes being a princess so much that she runs away from the castle, impersonates a boy, and goes on a series of adventures with two other boys. (Yeah, I know I’m following a pattern, but bear with me.)

The princess is shocked when she opens her eyes and sees that not only do most of the women who reject their womanly roles are despised, but they are subjected to many shocking atrocities, some which will not be mentioned here. She had initially hoped to join a famous band of warrior women, but those women reject her and tell her that her place is back at the castle, not with them.

(What happens after that I’ll reveal later)

I have created my female characters to be not only strong and smart, but to have much pain and suffering. I want my female characters to feel like real people, not caricatures. I actually prefer women who sit quietly on the sidelines instead of charging into battle, as it is always the quiet ones who speak the loudest.

I’ll have more on this subject as time goes by.

My books “Harry Moffer & the Dumbest Story Ever” and “The Summer of Our Discontent” are available at Smashwords.com.

Leave a Reply

