Fan Fiction Fridays: The Cultural Impact of Fan Fiction

So, what exactly is fan fiction, and why is everyone so quick to defend it?

All rants about Fifty Shades of Gray aside, I’m beginning to wonder why fan fiction is becoming mainstream and crowding out good literature. To me, I think that fan fiction is like junk food; good to eat, but only in low amounts.

But the fact that people are choosing to write fan fiction and trying to make money off their fan fiction leaves a bad taste in my mouth, like I ate a bad cookie or something like that. (which I’d why I’m leaving my fan fiction where it belongs: on my personal blog) I don’t understand why people feel that they have the right to write fan fiction when they could be writing their own stories, and they are plenty of authors out there who are very dismissive of fan fiction for various reasons.

(My response: I won’t be letting anyone make fan fiction from my stories. If this upsets you, the door is on your right.)

But fan fiction is everywhere, it seems, and to be honest, it’s getting way out of control. (More on that next week) Until then, be careful of what you choose to read online, as most of what is online is crap.

My books Harry Moffer & the Dumbest Story Ever and The Summer of Our Discontent are available on Smashwords.com

2 thoughts on “Fan Fiction Fridays: The Cultural Impact of Fan Fiction

  1. Reblogged this on Sleepy Book Dragon and commented:
    I still stand by my previous post on writing Fan Fiction and still think it is an excellent way for new writers to develop before trying to write their own original stuff, a way for fans to immerse themselves into their favourite shows, books, etc. and to express their opinions of what they think should happen. I do also agree with Claire Violet Thorpe about making money from the fan fiction. It does not sit with me too good and, in fact, it feels very wrong to me. The less said about Fifty Shades of Grey, the better!

Leave a Reply

