Fan Fiction Fridays: Just What is this Fan Fiction, Anyway?

Ok, so I really want to look at fan fiction as a whole, seeing as that is going to be the subject of my next NaNoWriMo project. I’ll be looking at fan fiction from both sides of the spectrum and deciding my stance on it in October.

Deep breath.

Fan fiction is a story written by a person who is a fan of a book, movie, TV show, or video game.

There you have it. If you are writing about your favorite characters, you are a fan. You are writing fan fiction.

But how does that relate to today’s blog post?

Easy.

As early as 2002, I have been writing fan fiction, but mainly in my head; I lacked the confidence to write it down and so many of those ideas that I had back then are now dead. I did try my hand at writing fan fiction in 2005, but I ended up deleting most of those fics. To me, it was all just crappy writing, and besides, who’s really going to want to read my crappy writing, anyway?

But in 2007, my obsession with fan fiction really took off when I signed up for a FanFiction.net account (I still have it, but I don’t use it very much), and my writings were just itching to get on the site. It mattered not of those stories were crappy, they just wanted to be out there. (I had since taken down most of my Harry Potter stories, and I won’t be giving out any links to them)

Anyway, my fan fiction writing has slowed down drastically to the point where I am starting to lose interest in writing fan fiction altogether. I wonder if I should just keep going or stop with fan fiction completely.

But that’s for another blog post.

Anyway, fan fiction is writing about characters, situations, and storylines that belong to another writer, yet you yourself are writing a different story that those characters can be featured in.

Now you know.

My books Harry Moffer & the Dumbest Story Ever and The Summer of Our Discontent are available for purchase on Smashwords.com.

Leave a Reply

