Fan Fiction Fridays: Sometimes It’s Good to Challenge the Author

In this blog post, I will tell you about the many changes that I’ve made to the Harry Potter fanfiction known as Harry Potter Redux.

I did talk of the initial changes that were made to the story last week, but now comes the time when I have to challenge the author in terms of Harry’s ethnicity.

I don’t know if you noticed, but there are a lot of problems with creating a character. Too often, we writers tend to default to the white male lead, denying women and minorities a chance to start in the show. While this isn’t bad in and of itself, we have grown rather insensitive to the plight of women and minorities who are in the story. They aren’t the main characters; they get shoved to the side and/or forgotten. And that’s still the state of our world today.

While working on No Stones For Sorcerers, I decided that Harry needed at least one friend who wasn’t white. Then after reading a few blog posts regarding whitewashing in the Harry Potter books, I began to wonder if the story would be better off if Harry wasn’t white. I will be continuing this debate next week, so comment as often as possible.

My books Harry Moffer & the Dumbest Story Ever and The Summer of Our Discontent can be purchased on Smashwords.com.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

