SparkLife » The Problem(s) With Fan Fiction

SparkLife » The Problem(s) With Fan Fiction.

I have read the above-mentioned article and after years of reading and writing fan fiction, I have this to add to my collection of essays.

And now for my opinion on the following:

  1. It’s Awful: I know that there are tons of fan fiction out there are are bad, but there is also some good fan fiction out there as well. You just have to know where to look.
  2. It’s Empty: After investing many years writing fan fiction, I have come to the conclusion that I just don’t feel fulfilled. It’s kind of sad because I enjoy writing, but I can’t enjoy writing fan fiction anymore.
  3. Too Much Shipping: Ship is a word, not something to use when describing relationships. Let’s just stop right there and re-evaluate what we are doing with our lives.
  4. Slash Fiction Is Wrong: I used to read a ton of slash fan fiction until I realized that #1, slash is just wrong; and #2, why am I wasting my time reading about homosexual relationships when it clearly goes against everything that I learned in church? (I’m not supposed to have time for that!)
  5. Fan Fiction Is Small-Minded: I love twisting stuff up in my stories (such as in the fan fiction “Harry Potter Redux“, Harry refuses to go into Gryffindor and incurs the wrath of Dumbledore himself), but if you want to twist up the story, make it look fresh and exciting, not lame and boring. (See “Harry Moffer & the Dumbest Story Ever” for inspiration)
  6. Fan Fiction is Misguided Creativity: as much fun as fan fiction appears to be, you need to remember that you’re not making up stories, you’re just playing with someone else’s toys. (It’s not so much fun after a while.)
  7. Write Your Own Damn Story: as hard as it seems, I have to do it. After all, yes, some authors of fan fiction have found success with original works, but you’re not going to be taken seriously if all your writings are fan fiction. Especially since you’re not 12 years old anymore, you’re 35.
  8. The Party Has To End: when a story is over, it’s over. There’s no point in going back and trying to fix stuff (J. K. Rowling, I’m talking to you!) and writing the prequel won’t help much (see Star Wars Episodes 1, 2, and 3). Just leave the story alone.
  9. Write Your Own Flippin’ Story!: see # 7 for reasons why you should write your own story. Then do it. I mean it. This world doesn’t need another Harry Potter fan fiction; it needs your own story.

Well, now you know. I must say that the person who wrote this essay really hit the nail on the head with it. I’ll be back with more next week.

Leave a Reply

«

»
