It’s NaNoWriMo Time!

Ok, so now that NaNoWriMo has begun, I hope that you all are hunkering down and writing what will be your newest novel. I know I am, because you won’t be hearing much from me during this time. To write a novel in 30 days is no less than daunting, seeing as most of us have lives that exists outside of writing. Most of us have things to do, places to go, people to see, and we find it difficult to set aside some time to write that illusive novel.

So, how can I be sure to have my novel written in 30 days, you are asking. Well, I myself have been pondering the same thing, and up until last year, I have had some difficulty keeping to my committing to writing for 30 days.

Here’s some tips to help you during this month:

  1. Set aside at least two hours to write every day; preferably when you cannot be disturbed.
  2. Try to aim for a 2,000 word goal every day. (NaNo recommends at least 1,667 words)
  3. Remove yourself from anything that would distract you from writing. (that means no TV, no Facebook, and as hard as it is for me to say it, you’ll have to learn to say no to hanging out with others)
  4. Whatever you do, don’t miss a day! (you do, you’ll fall behind quickly)
  5. If you find your novel unsatisfactory, it’s OK to throw it out and start all over. It’s better to write about something that you enjoy and fail to make that goal than to have pages of useless writing that no one, not even you, are going to read.
  6. At the end, don’t forget to tell everyone that you’re writing a novel and with that, promote your book heavily.

I’ll see you when NaNoWriMo ends.

2 thoughts on “It’s NaNoWriMo Time!

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day #1 | MARSHA L. RANDOLPH

  2. Pingback: First day of NaNoWriMo | Rebecca Hurd

Leave a Reply

