NaNoWriMo has ended

Well, it seems like a long time ago that I decided to sit down and write a novel called “Magical Compositions“. And to remind us all what the story is about, I shall write the summary here:  Four friends, all outcasts, form a rock band during the year 1999. But the band is under scrutiny when a cruel bully discovers that their songs are all about them and their bullying.

Well, yesterday, I managed to squeeze in 50,992 words on this last day in November, making this the lowest written story that I have written to date. Last year’s story, a paranormal romance titled “Life, Sin, & Blood“, I had written  55,355 words and I hit 50,412 words on day 27 of last year’s NaNoWriMo. What does this say about me? I think it says that I seem to enjoy writing about vampires and paranormal elements more than I like writing about normal everyday teenagers. (Even Shara Shinnok and Temmy Bennett can attain to that, and yet, there is some fantasy elements added to their story)

So while I will finish this story and publish it, I have learned a very serious lesson. That lesson is to write about what you know and what you like. Sure it may be good to branch out and write about what’s popular out there right now, but if you don’t enjoy writing the story, then STOP while you’re still ahead.

With that, I close the chapter on NaNoWriMo 2012 and prepare to plan my next writing venture. Perhaps next year, I’ll stick with what I know and what I like.

3 Responses to “NaNoWriMo has ended”

  1. Last awards for this year. « camgal Says:

    […] NaNoWriMo has ended (clairevioletthropeexpress.wordpress.com) […]

  2. #NaNoWriMo winner! | Brittany Westerberg Says:

    […] NaNoWriMo Has Ended [clairevioletthropeexpress.wordpress.com] […]

  3. The Post-NaNoWriMo Blues « A Writer Inspired Says:

    […] NaNoWriMo has ended (clairevioletthropeexpress.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

